Minnesota Twins News & Rumors Forum
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Article: Twins Minor League Report (8/4): Licon Delivers Walk-Off Win for Kernels

  1. #1
    Owner MVP Seth Stohs's Avatar
    Posts
    6,520
    Twitter
    @sethtweets
    Like
    68
    Liked 380 Times in 201 Posts
    Blog Entries
    515

    Article: Twins Minor League Report (8/4): Licon Delivers Walk-Off Win for Kernels


  2. #2
    Owner MVP Seth Stohs's Avatar
    Posts
    6,520
    Twitter
    @sethtweets
    Like
    68
    Liked 380 Times in 201 Posts
    Blog Entries
    515
    Here's a terrific story from MetroSportsReport on the Jake Mauer ejection, what happened, etc. Kernels unbeaten when Mauer tossed

  3. #3
    Owner MVP Seth Stohs's Avatar
    Posts
    6,520
    Twitter
    @sethtweets
    Like
    68
    Liked 380 Times in 201 Posts
    Blog Entries
    515
    Jim Crikket posted the video of the Licon walk-off single and the celebration:

    Knuckleballs ? Kernels Video: Joel Licon?s Walk-off Single Tops Quad Cities

  4. #4
    Senior Member Big-Leaguer
    Posts
    535
    Like
    42
    Liked 20 Times in 14 Posts
    Blog Entries
    4
    Aaron not Dalton for Roc. Happens to the best of us (Seth being the best of us).

  5. #5
    Owner MVP Seth Stohs's Avatar
    Posts
    6,520
    Twitter
    @sethtweets
    Like
    68
    Liked 380 Times in 201 Posts
    Blog Entries
    515
    Quote Originally Posted by Chance View Post
    Aaron not Dalton for Roc. Happens to the best of us (Seth being the best of us).
    Thank you! Corrected... and, thank you!

  6. #6
    Senior Member Triple-A
    Posts
    224
    Like
    6
    Liked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Was Jake correct about the rule? This could be a real embarrassment for the league to have a pair of umpires not know the rules. On the other hand Jake is just a coach :-)

  7. #7
    Senior Member Big-Leaguer
    Posts
    556
    Twitter
    @JimCrikket
    Like
    29
    Liked 105 Times in 51 Posts
    Blog Entries
    51
    Yes, Jake Mauer was correct about the rule. The umpire called Harrison out for batter's interference after Harrison swung through the ball and made contact with the catcher as the runner was stealing 2nd. If Harrison had left the batters box and interfered with the catcher's throw, the call would have been correct. However, when the batter swings through the pitch and hits the catcher with his bat, it's just a strike and the runner is sent back to his original base.

    Ump blew the call.

  8. #8
    Senior Member All-Star
    Posts
    3,606
    Like
    68
    Liked 379 Times in 233 Posts
    Ouch, what an awful day for many of the prospects we are pinning the future on.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Triple-A
    Posts
    305
    Like
    13
    Liked 13 Times in 7 Posts
    Did he hit him on the backswing? If not, why wouldn't that be catcher's interference?

  10. #10
    Senior Member Big-Leaguer
    Posts
    556
    Twitter
    @JimCrikket
    Like
    29
    Liked 105 Times in 51 Posts
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by TRex View Post
    Did he hit him on the backswing? If not, why wouldn't that be catcher's interference?
    Sorry, I should have been more clear. Yes, it was after he swung through the pitch.

    Covering the Cedar Rapids Kernels for
    MetroSportsReport.comwhile my alter-ego, Jim Crikket, opines about the Twins and Kernels at Knuckleballsblog.com.

    ~You can get anything you want at Alice's Restaurant~

  11. #11
    Jake was correct...here is the official rule: If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.

  12. #12
    Senior Member All-Star Willihammer's Avatar
    Posts
    2,783
    Like
    666
    Liked 384 Times in 214 Posts
    Blog Entries
    10
    Will be interesting to see how these guys do against Appel on Tuesday

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
©2014 TwinsCentric, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Interested in advertising with Twins Daily? Click here.